Board of Directors

Smart Communities Board Members Bios

Smart Communities Society is a non-profit organization established to facilitate, promote, and develop awareness of Information and Communications Technology among all citizens of the Northwest Territories, Canada. Incorporated in 2000, and administering the Smart Communities projects for the North.

Current Board Members:

  1. Peter Allen, Director

He is an independent consultant and business owner. He has a background of Government experience as a senior civil servant, with particular expertise in the area of policy and planning. Peter is well regarded as a creative thinker and strategic planner, with a strong personal commitment to the positive development of the NWT.

  1. Ben McDonald, Director

Ben moved to Yellowknife in 1979, and is now retired, having worked in the labour movement for 25 years. Ben served three terms on Yellowknife City Council and has been a part of the Smart Communities Society since its inception. He feels that ICT can be a double-edged sword and that northerners might be able to benefit from its introduction but we risk being left behind because of our geography and state of development. Ben sees the Society as a vehicle to promote equal access and opportunities for northerners.

  1. Michel Adam, Director

He is currently working as a DBA/Systems Analyst at ITI/ENR, GNWT. Since he moved to Yellowknife in 1984, he has held numerous IT jobs, both in and out of the public sector, as well has serving on the board of the NTNet Society in the last millennium.

  1. Michael Corbett, Treasurer

Michael came from Ontario in 2002 for the proverbial 18 month contract and has not looked back since. He came to the north as the executive director of the Smart Communities Society before moving on to CanNor as an Economic Development Officer. Currently self-employed, he continues to have a passionate interest in information and Communications Technology training and awareness. He sees technology as a tool for aiding in community development, particularly in delivering health, education and training.


  1. Christopher Hunt, President

Christopher is a lifelong Northerner, having lived in both Nunavut and the NWT. He is the president of Asphalt Canada, and involved in the development of unique new road surfacing technologies. His Community activities include acting as: chairman of the NWT and Nunavut Engineers and geoscientists Education Foundation, the current vice-president of the Wade Hamer recreational hockey league and volunteering with the Yellowknife Food Rescue organization. Christopher is fluent in English and Inuktitut

  1. Sudhir Kumar Jha, Vice President

Sudhir is a seasoned professional leader, applying his skills as a professional engineer to a wide variety of projects in the NWT, Nunavut, Ontario and overseas.

Sudhir is a tireless community volunteer and received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for his outstanding contributions to Canada. He works with various non-profit organizations to promote skills-based careers in trades and technology and currently serves on the Board of Directors of Skills Canada NWT and the boards of several other professional organizations. For the past 14 years, he also mentored new immigrants, encouraging them to pursue their professional careers.

  1. Obed Duru, Secretary

As a coach, father, and high school teacher, Obed brings a vast classroom teaching and international development experience as a new member of the board. Over fourteen years, Obed has impacted many students across Nunavut and NWT in curricular and extra-curricular activities. Obed is an alumnus of the University of Alberta, the University of Glasgow and the Teachers Institute on Parliamentary Democracy. He is well travelled and published. He is also a member of the ATA, NWTTA, and the Canadian Evaluators Society.

  1. David Wasylciw, Director



Translate »